Sick of the Same Old Chick Flicks

Just this morning I sat down to watch a movie that I have been dying to see….The Ugly Truth.  It looked pretty good and I had heard some great reviews about it.  However, within about ten minutes into the movie I had already predicted how it was going to end.  Boy meets girl, they become friends, they fall in love realizing that their friendship is more, something gets in their way and they don’t talk, then one of them can’t take it anymore and they go to get the other one back, and then they live happily ever after.  This is the exact reason why I don’t bother with chick flicks anymore.  Has society become so used to this same routine that they cannot think of any other ways to tell a story.  What has happened to the expectations of popular culture?  “Psychologists at Heriot Watt University in Edinburgh say that the more people watch and enjoy romantic comedies, the more likely they are to have unrealistic expectations in their own love lives… and when life doesn’t live up to the movies, they feel disappointed.”  So why do girls insist on making guys suffer through watching them?”

In the past few years I have honestly only seen maybe five truly good chick flicks. P.S. I love you, Becoming Jane, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and He’s Just Not That Into You.  When I become a Producer I will make sure to come out with some good chick flicks. Below are examples of the same old chick flicks over and over.

References:

DeQuattro, Kristen. Chick Flicks: Bad for You?. (2008). Raising Maine. <http://raisingmaine.mainetoday.com/blogentry.html?id=10086&gt;

1 Comment »

  1. iceman1190 Said:

    I believe that America has become obsessed with the average chick flick. Singact13 brings up a good point about the psychology of a chick flick and guys. I agree that women make guys watch them when the guys don’t want to. The girls want to see a happily ever after and want the guy to want one too. I have suffered through my fair share of chick flicks and its okay. I don’t prefer it or dislike it. From a guys perspective, we do it to please her. Most guys i talk to hate chick flicks because there isn’t enough action. That is my proposal to you. Make a chick flick with guns, the guys will be telling girls to watch the flick.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment