Re:Family Guy and God

This is a response to Jake’s blog. I could not agree more with what Jake is saying about people taking Family guy so seriously. It is just a stupid adult cartoon that is meant to be funny. Yes, they like to make fun of religion, but so who cares. I would understand if they only made fun of one religion and the people of that religion wanted to get mad, but they make fun of ALL religions. Below I put multiple videos from Family Guy, making fun of multiple religions.

I think you get the point. I consider myself to be a pretty religious person. I go to church every Sunday and I am not embarrassed to admit it. However, when Family Guy makes fun of Jesus, I find myself laughing because it is funny. Not everyone believes what I believe and I understand that, so why would I be offended? I think people need to learn stop taking themselves so seriously and learn to laugh once in a while. I don’t think anyone can say it better than the director himself, “It’s not like television is a God-given right. You hear the Parents Television Council raving about “Family Guy” did this, nobody is forcing you to watch this show. They say is this taste. No, it’s not, it’s terrible taste. That’s what’s funny.”

References:

Whitlock, Scott. ABC’s Bill Weir Goes Easy on Religion-Bashing ‘Family Guy.’ (2009) News Busters. <http://newsbusters.org/blogs/scott-whitlock/2009/04/07/abcs-bill-weir-goes-easy-religion-bashing-family-guy&gt;

Leave a comment